Underworld Awakening

The first Underworld movie is one of my favourite movies of all time;  I find it cinematically gorgeous, and Selene played by Kate Beckinsale is just so awesome.  Kate Beckinsale with short hair and those bright blue contacts makes her look absolutely stunning, and then you stick her in that black skin tight leather outfit, with all the intricate detail in the bodice,  stick a gun in her hand, and you get quite possibly the most kick ass female character ever, followed by Milla Jovovich as Alice in Resident Evil.

 

I loved the aesthetic of the world created in Underworld.  The opulent Vampires and the ragged Lycans, it’s your typical star-crossed lovers story, although instead of one being a human and the other a vampire, the other is a human turned werewolf who then ends up turning into a vampire-Lycan hybrid.

I must be quite frank when I say I was utterly disappointed with the sequel.  Admittedly I may have been slightly biased since the first film was just so beautiful and then the second was disappointing because there were no beautifully shot scenes or stunning costumes.  While the second film doesn’t have any striking shots, Selene strikes some really cool poses, in fact in every movie Selene always strikes awesome poses in battle.  I just felt the storyline of the second film was a bit weak, especially the driving force behind Marcus, I had been dying to see who would play him.  I enjoyed Tony Curranas Marcus, until he went all weird ugly bat-thing crazy at the end.  Another thing that really bugged me in the second film was Sonja’s necklace, and how it goes from a flat 4cm by 4cm pendant in the first movie, to being double sided like a locket, that grows in size throughout the film until it’s this huge cumbersome thing that they no longer wear but carry around by the chain, because it’s so big if either of them wore it they would fall over.  I really liked Corvinus travelling around on his boat, an ancient immortal doing damage control for his descendants, then giving Selene his blood so that she becomes a vampire who can live in sunlight and god know what else.  I was pretty angry when they blew up the ship;  I thought Selene and Michael could inherit it from Corvinus and start their own weird little coven.

When Underworld:  Rise of the Lycans came out I was dying for a decent Underworld film.  I was really excited because this was a prequel movie about Lucian and Sonja;  I was also disappointed because it was a prequel movie and not a threequel for Selene.  Truthfully I didn’t mind too much that it didn’t have Selene in it since I’m totally in love with Lucian, not Michael Sheen the actor, but his character.  Rhona Mitra was a perfect choice for Sonja since she looks uncannily similar to Selene, and she has a strong presence.  It also had some of the first Underworld’s magic, which I didn’t feel in the second film.  The second films premise just felt so weak.

Underworld Awakening was a surprise, I was not expecting another Underworld anytime soon.  The story felt fresh, different for the Underworld franchise, it finally took the story away from the vampire covens and gave us a new villain, humanity.  Now I am going to give a little spoiler, Scott Speedman who plays Michael, is not in this film.  Well he is but he isn’t, we see him once at the beginning of the film, and then once at the end. The rest of the film Selene runs around heartbroken and tortured because she thinks Michael is dead, but we all know he isn’t.  What bothered me was I couldn’t decided whether the man I was seeing was Scott Speedman or whether it was a stand-in with Scott Speedmans’ face edited in.  Well that’s about as much as I can say about the film without giving it all away.  I’m sure you can figure out the basic storyline by watching the trailer.  I really enjoyed the twists in the plot, because I honestly wasn’t expecting them.  There was some new eye candy, vampire David played by Theo James.  I was also very excited to see Kris Holden-Ried, Dyson the wolf from Lost Girl, whom I totally love in that series.  I did feel his character was slightly wasted, but I was happy to see him.  The action in this film was fantastic, Selene looks awesome in every frame of her battles, but I did notice that Selene seemed to be taking harder hits, and she spent a lot of her time being flung hard against walls, in between her gravity defying stunts.  I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed watching this film, and while I really did miss Michael, I enjoyed watching Selene grow more emotionally.  It felt ‘fresh’ in the sense that you can see the franchise expanding in a different direction and growing.  I believe if handled correctly the next movie could be brilliant.

Leave a Reply

