G.I. Joe 2: Retaliation

Unlike many, I really enjoyed the first GI Joe movie.  It was fun, with great action, a little romance, and some corny but fun one liners.  I also have a fan girl crush on Snake Eyes!  I know it doesn’t make much sense to crush over a guy whose face is always covered, but it’s the mystery behind the awesomeness that makes him appealing.  Also, the actor playing him is Ray Park aka Darth Maul, super hot Sith badassness, what’s not to love.  That aside, the sequel looks fun as well.  No surprise Storm Shadow’s alive, the way his death was set up in the first film, it was so obvious he was going to come back.  Plus, with a bod like that, it would be such a waste to kill him off permanently.  From the little we are shown in the trailer, poor old Duke (Channing Tatum) doesn’t live very long.  Now I’m not an authority on the GI Joe comics, I’ve only just started being interested in them, and only because a specific artist I like worked on the series.  The character of Duke is pretty much synonymous with the GI Joe franchise, the same goes for Scarlett (not appearing in this film), Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow.  I’m sure there are others, but the GI Joe team is huge, like over 100 characters, but they’re back-up singers.  Without certain characters this film just looks like a Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson film.  Not that I don’t like him, you just don’t kill off Duke.  Not that I’m saying I like Channing Tatum, his acting is like a talking piece of wood!  BUT Bruce Willis playing the Original Joe, and his little quip about his cholesterol, fantastic.  The stunts looks awesome, but what a waste to have a ninja fight hanging on the side of a mountain,  you could pose and frame them far more dramatically on a flat surface, the scene looks a bit, erm, gangly?  Not as graceful as a ninja show down should be.

On another note, the trailer itself isn’t very dynamic.  The first one was quite an exciting, well edited piece, with lots of quick successive shots, and I love the song that was used in it.  This trailer is almost mellow compared to the first movies trailer.  (Actually I’ve just realised that I’ve only seen one version of the first movie trailer, it was the first released and I consider it the best and works well in interesting the viewer).

Still, very excited that there’s a sequel.  Please let it not be in 3D.

GI Joe Rise of the Cobra

Leave a Reply

