Snow White and the Huntsman

Aaaand I’m back!  Sorry for the silence, I have been super busy since August;  Captain America was literally the last outing I had.  I’ve been busy writing essays since then.  So firstly, YAY exams are over and I’m on holiday.  Hot off the presses FINALLY the first trailer for Snow White and the Huntsman!

2012 is the Year of Snow White.  Well, it started a bit earlier with the TV series Once Upon a Time, which follows the lives of Snow White, Prince Charming and characters from all other fairytales who are sent to the real world and denied their happy endings.  I’ll talk about the TV show later, back to the Snow White movies, of which, as I said, there are two. Snow White and the Huntsman stars Kristen Stewart as Snow White, Charlize Theron as the Evil Queen, Chris Hemsworth as the Huntsman (WOOHOOO the hotness of Thor) and some kid called Sam Claflin who plays Prince Charmant.  The other Snow White movie is called Mirror Mirror – it only received an official title recently, and stars Lily Collins as Snow White, Julia Roberts as the Evil Queen and some guy called Armie Hammer as Prince Andrew Alcott.  Oh and it appears Sean Bean will play the King.

I love the retellings of fairytales, and I’m especially excited about these two films because of how different the approaches are to the same subject matter.  Snow White and the Huntsman is an action adventure, a gritty battle epic, very Lord of the Rings.  I like it when my fairy tale princess’s grow a backbone and actually have a personality (remember this I’ll get back to it).  Mirror, Mirror is a more fantastical version, less gritty fantasy than Huntsman, more comedic, a far more colourful affair.  Both movies look absolutely stunning, and present two incredibly different stories so it’s very exciting.

So here’s the major bone of contention with Snow White and the Huntsman:  Kristen Stewart’s in it.  I’m sorry but my sister and I came to the realisation after witnessing the MTV movie awards the year Twilight came out, that Kristen Stewart can’t act!  She just plays herself!  She has absolutely no presence.  Since I have only seen her in The Twilight films (which I love/hate) and her small role in Zathura (2005) and a movie I’ve watched bit of called The Cake Eaters, where she plays a girl with some debilitating disease.  I really want to see if Kristen Stewart can play anything other than Bella.  So it really ticks me off that the first trailer for the film doesn’t show us any scenes of her speaking!  Of all the luck.

Other than that I can’t wait to watch this film.  WOO TEAM THOR!

For more pictures from both movies:

Mirror Mirror: http://www.filmofilia.com/18-hi-res-untitled-snow-white-photos-73772/

Snow White and the Huntsman: http://www.filmofilia.com/must-watch-snow-white-and-the-huntsman-trailer-and-four-posters-76679/

Leave a Reply

