Captain America

Super impressive, Captain America is an even blend of action, humour, romance and storyline.  The film keeps you riveted to your seat; it doesn’t lag nor bore you and leaves you feeling satisfied and extremely hyped for the Avengers movie due out next May.

You’d think by now people have learnt to stay until the end of the credits, especially with Marvel/ comic book based movies and especially with the movies leading up to the Avengers movie.  They have been leaving after credit titbits since Iron Man, especially since Iron Man’s titbit was Samuel L.  Jackson’s Nick Fury.  Comic book fans everywhere went ape.

BEWARE SPOILERS AND VAGUE HINTS

Captain America fits in nicely with Iron Man 2 and Thor, with reference to the Stark Expo and the involvement of Howard Stark (Tony’s dad, Dominic Coop was just perfect in the role) and reference to Thor i.e. the Cosmic Cube which was shown at the end credits, pulse the continual reference to Norse mythology plus Red Skulls death.  Think really hard about how Red Skulls death ‘looked’.  Can you really say it was a ‘death’?  Wink nudge.

Now I’m an X-men girl at heart so my Captain America lore isn’t very strong, but it is far less complex.  So according to my spotty knowledge the movie is fairly accurate to the comics, especially the current run on Captain America by Brian Michael Bendis who dealt with the Cosmic Cube.  My only issue is how they dealt with Bucky’s death. Bucky dies with Cap in his last battle against Red Skull before getting frozen in the ice, Bucky saves Cap and dies in a firey explosion and Cap gets frozen in the ice.  The films ultimate battle doesn’t do this, although I was happy to see that Bucky’s fall to doom was over an icy river.  I shall say no more.

I must admit that when Chris Evans signed up to play Captain America I thought it would be an absolute disaster.  Firstly, Chris Evans has already played a Marvel character, the Human Torch in the Fantastic Four.  Secondly, Chris Evans is one of those people who exudes comedy and snarky quips like Ryan Reynolds.  They’re the kind of guys who would find it very difficult to act serious, and the thing about Captain America is that he’s not a funny guy, he has humour but he’s not a naturally funny guy, so you can see I would find it difficult to take him seriously.  I must admit after seeing the trailer, and Chris Evans awesome bod, the shallow side of me kicked in I decided to see if Chris Evans could play serious.  Well he can, he has charm and humour without trying to be funny. He was very natural.  The entire cast was brilliant, none of them bland, and Hugo Weaving is always stunning to watch – good or evil.  Hugo Weavings Red Skull make-up was just AMAZING, who would have thought they could have pulled it off!

I am very happy I didn’t see this movie in 3D, it really didn’t need to be.  3D is just horrid, you experience eye strain, the 3D glasses aren’t made to go over normal glasses, and the colour quality is dimmed by glasses so you struggle to see what little of the image there is.

I must be very truthful, what had me the most excited was that after the credits they played the first trailer for the new Avengers.  I squealed with such glee.  I really want a high quality version to watch over and over again.  Actually if I think about it, I was excited for Captain America long before production on the Avengers even started, and I was extremely satisfied by this film.

Leave a Reply

